Written by Mike Flenniken 8:44 pm Column

IAPMO Named Alliance for Water Efficiency’s 2023 Affiliate Member of the Year 

From left, IAPMO Executive Vice President of Government Relations Dain Hansen, Alliance for Water Efficiency CEO Ron Burke, and IAPMO Executive Vice President of Continuous Improvement Programs Pete DeMarco. 

The International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO®) on Aug. 2 received the Alliance for Water Efficiency’s (AWE) 2023 Affiliate Member of the Year Award in recognition of its service as a leader in the water efficiency and conservation community. The award honors an organizational member that has demonstrated consistent commitment to and support for the work of the Alliance for Water Efficiency — in recognition of their outstanding support and dedication to the Alliance for Water Efficiency and its mission to promote the efficient and sustainable use of water. 

“IAPMO has been a regular event, program and research supporter, and they are one of our most important policy partners in D.C. and state capitals, advocating for additional water efficiency funding, incentives and research,” AWE CEO Ron Burke said in presenting the award. 

“We are immensely thankful to IAPMO for being one of our most important partners and supporters for more than 15 years,” he added. 

From left: Rob Zimmerman, sustainability consultant for Rob Zimmerman, LLC (WI) Clover Rogers, conservation coordinator for the Jurupa Community Services District (CA), AWE Vice-Chair Karen Guz, vice president of Water Conservation San Antonio Water System, Anne Carroll, director of Office Water Resources for the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation, and Hansen. 

IAPMO Executive Vice President of Continuous Improvement Programs Pete DeMarco and Executive Vice President of Government Relations Dain Hansen accepted the award, which was presented at the AWE’s Water Efficiency and Conservation Symposium at the Chicago-Kent College of Law in Chicago. DeMarco is a former chair of the AWE board and Hansen is currently a board member. IAPMO CEO Dave Viola is also a former board member. 

IAPMO has long enjoyed a supportive and productive partnership with AWE, collaborating frequently on such endeavors as the Emerging Water Technology Symposiums (EWTS) and the Plumbing Efficiency Research Coalition (PERC). 

“The relationship between IAPMO and AWE runs deep,” DeMarco said. “IAPMO is thrilled to have been a charter member when AWE was first established in 2008. The work we do together illustrates the vital importance that water plays in our daily lives. Whether drought, climate change, extreme weather, or simply being good stewards of our most important resource, our work with AWE has significant positive societal impacts.” 

A five-time winner of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) WaterSense Excellence Award for Strategic Collaboration, AWE’s network of members includes more than 500 stakeholders representing manufacturers, water and wastewater utilities, government agencies, water conservation professionals, planners and consumers working together to ensure communities, businesses and ecosystems have the water they need to thrive. 

Mike Flenniken is a staff writer, Marketing and Communications, for IAPMO. Prior to joining IAPMO in 2010, Flenniken worked in public relations for a group of Southern California hospitals and as a journalist in writing and editing capacities for various Southern California daily newspapers.

Last modified: May 8, 2024