Written by IAPMO 8:52 pm IAPMO Annual Conference, IAPMO News

IAPMO Concludes 94th Annual Education and Business Conference

San Antonio, Texas — The International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO®) last week conducted its 94th annual Education and Business Conference at the Hyatt Regency San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel. The event was co-located with ASSE International’s Annual Meeting and the American Rainwater Catchment Systems Association’s (ARCSA) Annual Conference.

Steve Panelli, chief plumbing inspector, city and county of San Francisco, was elected president and Jeremy Stettler, coordinator/inspector, Davis School District, Clearfield, Utah, was elected vice president. Brian Hamner, plumbing inspector, city of Des Moines, Iowa, will serve as secretary/treasurer. John Nielsen, executive officer-program manager, Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses, state of Idaho; Carlos Flores, assistant chief plumbing inspector, city of Houston, Texas; Barry Ramsey, chief plumbing inspector, St. Louis County, Missouri; and Kevin Tindall, president of Tindall & Ranson Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning will serve as a district directors.

Fabian Gonzalez, training coordinator of Plumbers and Pipefitters Local 142, served as conference host and Jesse Ortiz, Local 142 president, served as conference chair.

“This was a truly momentous and successful conference, bringing three distinctly venerable industry organizations together for shared purpose and the exchanging of knowledge,” said IAPMO CEO Dave Viola. “Congratulations to Steve Panelli, Jeremy Stettler and the other Board of Directors members elected to serve and immense gratitude to Immediate Past President David Gans for his incredible leadership during a challenging time in IAPMO’s history.”

The conference was sponsored by Plumbers Local Union 68 Texas Gulf Coast; California State Pipe Trades Council; Southern California Pipe Trades District Council 16; IAPMO Southern Nevada Chapter; PHCC Kansas; UA Plumbers Local Union 78; Pipefitters Local Union 211; PHCC Nebraska; MINK Pipe Trades; National Inspection Testing and Certification Corporation; Plumbers & Pipefitters Local 9 New Jersey; South Jersey Mechanical Contractors Association (SJMCA); TLD (Timelockdocs); Plumbers Local 322; WATTS; American Society of Plumbing Engineers; and the American Water Works Association.

Winners of the 13th IWSH Scholarship Essay Competition were announced. First prize was awarded to Calvin Cao, Western University, Ontario, Canada, and three runners-up were Marc-Anthony Dorestan, Millersville University of Pennsylvania; Aleksander Penkov, a Bulgarian studying at Hannibal-LaGrange University, Missouri; and Seanna Kryger, George Brown College, Ontario, Canada.

IAPMO’s 95th annual Education and Business Conference will be held in Las Vegas, Nevada, Sept. 22-26, 2024.


IAPMO develops and publishes the Uniform Plumbing Code®, the most widely recognized code of practice used by the plumbing industry worldwide; Uniform Mechanical Code®; Uniform Swimming Pool, Spa and Hot Tub Code®; and Uniform Solar Energy, Hydronics and Geothermal Code — the only plumbing, mechanical, solar energy and swimming pool codes designated by ANSI as American National Standards — and the Water Efficiency Standard (WE-Stand)™. IAPMO works with government, contractors, labor force, and manufacturers to produce product standards, technical manuals, personnel certification/educational programs and additional resources in order to meet the ever-evolving demands of the industry in protecting public health and safety.

Last modified: October 4, 2023