Written by IAPMO 8:35 am Industry News

Announcing the US Water Prize 2021 Winners

The US Water Alliance is excited to celebrate this year’s class of US Water Prize winners. We’re hosting a special virtual celebration on Thursday, September 23 from 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm ET, and we hope you will join us to recognize our nine winners and hear their perspectives about their innovative One Water work and trends in the sector. Listed below are the recipients of US Water Prize 2021:

  • Outstanding Public Sector Organization: Tucson Water 
  • Outstanding Private Sector Organization: Microsoft 
  • Outstanding Nonprofit Organization: San Juan Bay Estuary Program 
  • Outstanding Cross-Sector Partnership: KC Water Green Stewards Program 
  • Outstanding Public Official: Congresswoman Melanie Stansbury (NM-1) 
  • Outstanding Journalism on the Value of Water: Ian James and Colleagues, The Arizona Republic 
  • Outstanding Rising One Water Leader: Dr. Lindsay Birt 
  • Outstanding Artist: Salmon Speakers
  • Outstanding Artist: Friends of Gadsden Creek  

Selected by an independent review panel and awarded on an annual basis, the US Water Prize celebrates outstanding achievement in the advancement of solutions to our nation’s water challenges. It is the preeminent national recognition program for exemplary efforts to secure a One Water future for all. We are incredibly grateful to all our supporters and want to especially recognize American Water, Black and Veatch, Evoqua, Jacobs, Stantec, and Xylem—our Leaders Circle Sponsor organizations—for their continued support of the US Water Prize. To register for the virtual US Water Prize ceremony, click here.


IAPMO develops and publishes the Uniform Plumbing Code®,the most widely recognized code of practice used by the plumbing industry worldwide; Uniform Mechanical Code®; Uniform Swimming Pool, Spa and Hot Tub Code®; and Uniform Solar Energy, Hydronics and Geothermal Code — the only plumbing, mechanical, solar energy and swimming pool codes designated by ANSI as American National Standards — and the Water Efficiency Standard (WE-Stand)™. IAPMO works with government, contractors, labor force, and manufacturers to produce product standards, technical manuals, personnel certification/educational programs and additional resources in order to meet the ever-evolving demands of the industry in protecting public health and safety.

Last modified: December 30, 2022